Skip to main content


Northside Chicago Theological Institute

The Northside Chicago Theological Institute (NCTI) was organized in 1971 for educational and ecumenical purposes and is an association of five seminaries in the Northside Chicago area: Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Bexley Hall Seabury Western Theological Federation, University of Saint Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary, North Park Theological Seminary, and Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.

The activities of the NCTI are under the direction of a board of directors whose officers are elected biennially. From its beginning the NCTI has emphasized the importance of student representation on its boards and committees. The NCTI sponsors two academic courses each year.

The NCTI Fall Seminar is “Global Theologies: How the Growth of the Church Within the Majority World is Affecting Theology,” which explores dimensions of theology opened by globalization. See the course description under USML DT630 about how globalization and encounter of cultures poses new questions to theology. The evening and weekend sessions are held on the campus of USML for a minimal fee. Credit hours are contingent on the school’s term system.  Please register for this course at your own institution through your registrar. For information call your registrar or 847.970.4804. 

The spring seminar, “Prayer and Life of the Spirit: Seven Deadly Sins” addresses attitudes and behaviors associated with the sins and studies both the sin and the sinner, suggesting insights for pastoral care. See the course description under USML ST655. In its present format, the seminar includes evening and overnight intensive retreat experiences on the USML campus. Registration is limited. Student participants pay a minimal fee. For information on the seminar, contact your school's registrar or 847.970.4804.

Both seminars are led by the diverse faculty of NCTI and ACTS and will seek to include a variety of theological perspectives: Jewish, Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox and Protestant.

Each member school of NCTI observes the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity through activities appropriate to its own tradition. Exchange of pulpit speakers has proven enriching for the schools.

The Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools

The five ACTS schools located in or associated with Hyde Park (CTU, CTS, LSTC, MTS, ML) and the University of Chicago Divinity School identify themselves as the Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools. The cluster seeks ways to deepen academic cooperation and sharing beyond those made possible by the ACTS structure.

The purposes of the cluster are to (1) promote academic cooperation among the schools in Hyde Park; (2) foster dialogue and scholarship among its faculties through support of discipline groups and interdisciplinary colloquies; (3) develop support for academic programs through cooperative student services, recruitment and language programs; and (4) aid in communication and planning among the member institutions.

A committee consisting of the chief academic officers of the five schools administers the Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools. The chief executive officers of the cooperating institutions serve as an advisory board to the committee, especially in areas related to institutional planning.